The Official Site of The

Wilmington Sharks



Sharks Release 2018 Summer Schedule

Earlier this week, the Coastal Plain League schedules for each of its 16 teams for the 2018 summer season.

The Wilmington Sharks will begin defending their Eastern Divisional Title crown on May 31st as they host the Morehead City Marlins. The 52 game schedule is made of 26 home contests and 26 road games culminating on August 4th, with the Petitt Cup Playoffs running through August 11th.

Of their 26 games to be played at Buck Hardee Field in Wilmington, 17 fall on a Thursday, Friday, or Saturday night. The Sharks plan to bring back fan-favorite promotions for the upcoming summer. Thirsty Thursday, Friday Night Fireworks, and Saturday Night giveaways will make a return. Details on these promotions, as well as new and exciting promotions, will be released by the team in upcoming months.

In their 22nd season, the Coastal Plain League has shifted the divisions with the addition of a new franchise in Macon, Georgia. The league’s 16 teams have been divided into four divisions - North, South, East, and West - as a break from the bi-divisional look the league has had since 2012.

With the new divisional format, eight teams will make the playoffs - two coming from each division. The first round (Divisional Round) will consist of a one-game playoff between the two playoff teams in each division. The four winners will then move on to a second round (Regional Round) one-game playoff with the North champion facing off against the East champion, and the South champion facing the West champion. Once the final two teams are decided, they will move on to the best-of-three Petitt Cup Championship Series.




About The Wilmington Sharks

Set in the picturesque Cape Fear region of North Carolina, the Wilmington Sharks are one of the charter members of the Coastal Plain League. Providing affordable family entertainment in a minor league atmosphere, the Sharks have been consistently in the top 25 in attendance in all of summer-collegiate baseball.

About The Coastal Plain League

The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s premier summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 22nd season in 2018, the CPL features 16 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had over 1,450 alumni drafted and 109 of those - including 2017 ALCS MVP, 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander as well as 2017 NLCS MVP Chris Taylor – make their Major League debut. While another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at and follow us via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @CPLBaseball.

Back to News