Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Walk-Off Beats SwampDogs

Walk-Off Beats SwampDogs

For the second night in a row, the Sharks starting pitcher lasted seven innings but did not earn the win. A walk-off double by Mason Streater helped Wilmington (9-18) beat Fayetteville (13-13) 2-1.

The Sharks offense scored first for just the ninth time this summer. In the bottom of the fifth, Ben Anderson tripled home Noah Liles with two outs to give Wilmington the 1-0 lead on Findependence Day.

In the top of the sixth, Sam Luchansky was cruising. The Sharks starter retired the first 17 batters he faced until AJ Hrica, the nine hitter, stepped in to the box in the sixth. With two outs Hrica punched a single through the left side but was left stranded in the inning.

Luchansky finished his second start with seven scoreless innings, allowing just two hits, while striking out three.

In the eighth, the SwampDogs finally scored against Andrew Kaminsky (3-1). With two on and two outs Brett Young singled home Willis McDaniel before Trevor Hafner was thrown out at third.

To lead off the Sharks half of the ninth, Danny Wondrack walked on four pitches and then was pinch run for by Ben LaSpaluto. The next two Sharks struck out bringing Mason Streater to the plate. On a 1-0 count, the South Carolina freshman launched a double to the left field wall that allowed LaSpaluto to score easily from first.

Tonight's victory was the first walk-off win for the Sharks in 2018. Wilmington is now 2-0 in the second half atop the East Division. The Sharks have won two in a row at home after dropping eight straight at the Shark Tank.

The Sharks put the two game win streak on the line tomorrow at Morehead City. First pitch tomorrow is at 7:05 from Big Rock Stadium. Tune into the game here from Morehead City City:





About The Wilmington Sharks

Set in the picturesque Cape Fear region of North Carolina, the Wilmington Sharks are one of the charter members of the Coastal Plain League. Providing affordable family entertainment in a minor league atmosphere, the Sharks have been consistently in the top 25 in attendance in all of summer-collegiate baseball.

About The Coastal Plain League

The Coastal Plain League is the nation's premier summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 22nd season in 2018, the CPL features 16 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had over 1,450 alumni drafted and 109 of those - including 2017 ALCS MVP, 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander as well as 2017 NLCS MVP Chris Taylor – make their Major League debut. While another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at and follow us via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @CPLBaseball