Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer



The Wilmington Sharks will kick off their 2019 summer season on Thursday May 30th when they take on the Fayetteville SawmpDogs at the Shark Tank. The 52 game schedule features 26 home games as well as 26 road games during the regular season, concluding on August 3rd, with the Petitt Cup Playoffs starting on August 4th and running through August 10th.

The 26 home games for the Sharks features 16 home games that fall on either a Thursday, Friday, or Saturday night. The Sharks are bringing back fan-favorite promotions this summer, such as Thirsty Thursdays, Friday Night Fireworks, and Saturday Night Giveaways. Details on these promotions as well as new and exciting promotions will be announced in the upcoming months.

This season the Sharks will travel to numerous destinations. Along with road games against teams within the division, the Sharks will venture to Lexington County, Peninsula, Edenton, Wilson, Florence and Gastonia.  

The Coastal Plain League features 16 teams, split into four divisions - North, South, East, and West. The division winners from each half of the season will move on to face each other in a one game playoff for the first round of the playoffs. The winner of those four games will then square off in another one game playoff, with the two winners moving on to face each other in a best-of-three game playoff for the Petitt Cup Championship.

The Sharks ended the 2018 season with an overall record of 17-34. After a disappointing first half of the season, the Sharks turned it around in the second half, finishing a mere 5.5 games out of first place in the Eastern Division, behind eventual champion Morehead City. The Sharks remained in the playoff hunt until the final week of the season where they were eliminated.


Matthew Ogrinc



About The Wilmington Sharks

Set in the picturesque Cape Fear region of North Carolina, the Wilmington Sharks are one of the charter members of the Coastal Plain League. Providing affordable family entertainment in a minor league atmosphere, the Sharks have been consistently in the top 25 in attendance in all of summer-collegiate baseball.

About The Coastal Plain League

The Coastal Plain League is the nation's premier summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 23nd season in 2019, the CPL features 16 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had over 1,450 alumni drafted and 109 of those - including 2017 ALCS MVP, 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander as well as 2017 NLCS MVP Chris Taylor – make their Major League debut. While another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at and follow us via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @CPLBaseball.